This is the recording of our Vedic Astrology Club call which occurred on Saturday June 28, 2014. Thank you to all the participants and to Rani and Bhairavi, our guest speakers.



Call Recording: Vishnu and Other Discussion


Vishnu’s Symbolism (Vishnu is the ruler of Mercury)

The 4 hands of Vishnu express dominion over the 4 directions of space.

They also symbolize the 4 stages of human life referred to as the 4 ashrams.

1) The quest for knowledge –Brahmacharaya.

2) Family Life –Grihasta

3) Retreat into the Forest- Vana-Prastha

4) Renunciation – Sannyasa

They also represent the 4 aims of life, the Purushartha:

1) Duty and Virtue – Dharma

2) Material goods, Wealth, Success – Artha

3) Pleasure, Sexuality, Enjoyment – Kama

4) Liberation – Moksha Likewise the 4 arms represent the 4 castes and the 4 Vedas.

Further, Lord Vishnu holds the following implements in his hands:

1) Conch – blowing the conch symbolizes the primordial creative voice and Indian Mysticism relates it to the sacred sound ‘OM’, which is said to be the breath of Vishnu, pervading all space. Its various convolutions are said to represent the rising and setting sun, thus further cementing Vishnu’s solar associations. The conch has the form of a multiple spiral evolving from one point into ever increasing spheres, denoting eternity since it can go on forever.

2) Discus or Chakra – The ancient texts, the Vishnu Purana, ‘identifies the chakra with the human mind, whose thoughts, like the chakra, flow faster than even the mightiest wind.’ When used as a weapon, the distinguishing feature of the chakra is  its ability to  return to the hand that throws it. The only other weapon known to have this ability is the boomerang. Perhaps this is a pointer to the cyclic nature of existence. A parallel with the water wheel, representing the constant and cyclic interplay of irreconcilable activities (duality). The water wheel both empties and fills its vessels, turning without end to bring up water and disgorge it onto the forever parched fields. As life fills and empties due to forces innate in nature. This is the constant and rhythmic turning of the Wheel of Life.

3) The Lotus – When Vishnu contemplated the creation of mankind, a lotus sprang up out of his navel. Seated on this lotus was the four- headed Brahma illuminating all of the directions with his brightness. Vishnu is therefore also known as Padmanabha, or the one with the lotus navel. This lotus lit up the sky with its effulgence and was identified with the sun. As it was the creative matrix from which all of the world eventually evolved. The lotus therefore became a symbol of creation and fertility. By rising from the depths of the ocean, where there are said to dwell impure creatures like demons and serpents, the lotus expresses purity. Likewise does the individual soul, while rooted in an imperfect world, it searches for perfection. The lotus held in his hand, denotes the Goddess Lakshmi, from whom he derives his powers. Lakshmi the Goddess of Prosperity, sits on a lotus and holds lotuses in her hands. Thus the lotus represents the feminine force that activates the creative power of Lord Vishnu.

~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~~   ~~~

The lotus further signifies the yogic ideal of detachment. This is because even though this beautiful flower grows in muddy waters, no water or dirt or are seen sticking to its petals. It portrays Vishnu’s  message of partaking of the pleasures of this world without  becoming ensnared by them.

4) The Mace – There once lived a mighty demon who was intoxicated with his prowess on the battlefield, who wreaked havoc on mankind. Finally Vishnu decided to provide humanity some relief from this demons’ activities. Gada was known for his valor, as well as for his charitable inclination. It was said he would not refuse a a boon to any individual no matter how unreasonable the request might be. Vishnu approached Gada as a Brahmin and asked: ‘If you are so generous as you claim to be can you give me your bones?’ Gada immediately tore open his body and gave him his bones from which the celestial artist, Ribhus, fashioned a mace for Vishnu. Vishnu thus acquired an invincible weapon for himself and relief for humanity. The mace is called ‘Gada’ in honor of this demon.

The mace represents the Power of Time at the metaphysical level. Just as nothing can conquer Time, the Mace too is unconquerable and destroys those who oppose it. As such, the mace is identified with the Goddess Kali, who is the Power of Time. The Krishna Upanishad says: ’The Mace is Kali, the Power of Time, and it destroys all that oppose it.

Vishnu describes himself: ‘The world rests like the lotus in the palm of my hand, the cosmos revolves around my little finger like a discus. I blow the music of life through my conch, and wield my mace to protect all creatures.’

Jupiter Moved into Cancer in June ~ Watch replay of Google Hangout with Dr. Pillai: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r53MmM7iU3o&list=UULzw8opUlMnSA2TQfj34K9w

Rahu and Ketu Transit July 13th: Rahu moves into Virgo and Ketu moves into Pisces: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxspdVUrI6o

Special Announcement:

Have you ever wanted to go on a guided trip to experience first hand the incredible spiritual vortexes of the Navagraha (9 planet) temples in southern India? One of our sister sites, Brindavan Mystic, is launching an incredible trip in Tamil Nadu which will include all 9 planet temples and SO much more!

For information on this Inaugural Trip and Best Price Details see www.brindavanmystic.com/vortex_tour Space will be limited to 14 people so please let them know now if you are interested: support@brindavanmystic.com   Website mentioned on call:

Suggestion: create a free account at AstroVed and run your own Vedic Birth Chart via the Reports Section and follow along with suggestions in the club session. See previous Vedic Astrology Club recordings for how to run this Report. Please email questions to Valli at valli@pillaicenter.com See information for our call next Saturday on the Events page.